Front Page
  • Creative Arts Center in Bonham is featuring America's military in their exhibit from November 7-29 (they will be open on the Saturday after Thanksgiving, so that visitors to Bonham for the holiday weekend may see the exhibit). The opening reception on Friday, November 7 at 5:00 p.m. is free and open to all and will be a salute to all those who served with guest speakers, entertainment and refreshments.
  • Rosa Gomez donated this beautiful cross is made of wood and metal. It will be auctioned off at Justice Is Served on Nov 8 to benefit the abused and neglected children served by the Fannin County Childrenís Center.
  • There are some who say giving children responsibility makes them grow. There are others who contend it increases the familyís insurance rates.
  • As a child I had no concept of unintended consequences, but I experienced them more than once.
  • Emerilís original recipe includes heavy cream which I did not use.
  • 1881 Ė The Gunfight at the O.K. Corral takes place at Tombstone, Arizona. The Gunfight at the O.K. Corral was a 30-second gunfight between outlaw Cowboys and lawmen that is generally regarded as the most famous gunfight in the history of the American Wild West. The gunfight took place at about 3:00 p.m. on Wednesday, October 26, 1881, in Tombstone, Arizona Territory. It was the result of a long-simmering feud between Cowboys Billy Claiborne, Ike and Billy Clanton, and Tom and Frank McLaury, and opposing lawmen: town Marshal Virgil Earp, Assistant Town Marshal Morgan Earp, and temporary deputy marshals Wyatt Earp and Doc Holliday. Ike Clanton and Billy Claiborne ran from the fight unharmed, but Billy Clanton and both McLaury brothers were killed. Virgil, Morgan, and Doc Holliday were wounded, but Wyatt Earp was unharmed. The fight has come to represent a period in American Old West when the frontier was virtually an open range for outlaws, largely unopposed by law enforcement who were spread thin over vast territories, leaving some areas unprotected. The gunfight was not well known to the American public until 1931, when author Stuart Lake published a largely fictionalized biography, Wyatt Earp: Frontier Marshal, two years after Earp's death. Published during the Great Depression, the book captured American imaginations. photo of reenactment staged daily in Tombstone)