Front Page
Primary runoff elections in Fannin County for sheriff, Pct. 3 commissioner May 28
By Allen Rich
May 28, 2024
Print this page
Email this article

Fannin County, Texas -- Voters in Fannin County are returning to the polls Tuesday, May 28, 2024, for primary runoff elections to determine the next county sheriff, as well as the Pct. 3 commissioner.

Voting will be from 7:00 a.m. until 7:00 p.m. Tuesday, May 28.

Texas has open primaries which allows voters to cast a ballot in either a Republican or Democratic primary, however voters canít switch parties if they cast a vote in a subsequent runoff election. That means that if you voted in the Democratic primary, you aren't allowed to vote in the Republican runoffs.

On the other hand if someone didnít vote during the March election, they will be allowed to vote in the party runoff of their choice in the May runoff election.

The runoff in the Pct. 3 commissioner race will be between Kurt Fogelberg II  and Chris Wilson. Out of four candidates on election day March 5, Fogelberg led with 41.09% of the votes, while Wilson was a close second with 38.71%.

On April 22, Wilson formally notified the Republican Party and Registrar of Voters for Fannin County that he was withdrawing from the Republican Runoff for Fannin County Precinct 3 Commissioner.

Because the deadline to withdraw and be removed from the ballot was in March, his name cannot be removed from the ballot. Because of that fact, Wilson has spoken with the other candidate, Kurt Fogelberg II, and asked Mr. Fogelberg to ensure that his voters turn out and vote for him -- and Wilson requests that those who intended to vote for him do not.

Three candidates entered the race for sheriff, with Cody Shook garnering 45.22% of votes cast and William C. Robertson receiving 35.95% of the votes.

Key dates

Monday, April 29 was the final day to register to vote in the runoff election.

Friday, May 17 was the last day to apply for a mail ballot.

Monday, May 20 was the first day of early voting.

Friday, May 24 was the last day of early voting.

The last day to receive a ballot by mail is Tuesday, May 28, 2024 (Election Day) at 7:00 p.m. if carrier envelope is not postmarked, OR Wednesday, May 29, 2024 (next business day after Election Day) at 5:00 p.m. if carrier envelope is postmarked by 7:00 p.m. at the location of the election on Election Day (unless overseas or military voter deadlines apply.