Local News
Groundwater Management Area 8 Joint Planning Meeting July 26
By Texas Water Development Board (TWDB)
Jul 22, 2019
Print this page
Email this article

Cleburne, Texas -- Citizens in Groundwater Management Area 8 interested in planning for their groundwater resources will want to attend a Groundwater Management Area 8 Joint Planning Meeting set for 10:00 a.m. Friday, July 26, 2019 at Cleburne Conference Center

Attendance is free and open to the public.

Cleburne Conference Center is located at 1501 W. Henderson St., Cleburne, TX 76033.
Texas Water Code Chapter 36 requires groundwater conservation districts to conduct joint planning within groundwater management areas. The groundwater conservation districts must meet at least annually to review groundwater management plans, accomplishments of the management area, and proposals to adopt new or amend existing desired future conditions for the relevant aquifers within a management area.

The TWDB will calculate modeled available groundwater values based on the desired future conditions, which will be used for regional water planning, groundwater conservation district management plans, and for permitting groundwater withdrawals.

Groundwater Management Area 8 consists of the following groundwater conservation districts: Central Texas Groundwater Conservation District, Clearwater Underground Water Conservation District, Middle Trinity Groundwater Conservation District, North Texas Groundwater Conservation District, Northern Trinity Groundwater Conservation District, Post Oak Savannah Groundwater Conservation District, Prairielands Groundwater Conservation District, Red River Groundwater Conservation District, Saratoga Underground Water Conservation District, Southern Trinity Groundwater Conservation District, and Upper Trinity Groundwater Conservation District.

Counties within Groundwater Management Area 8 include Bell, Bosque, Bowie, Brown, Burnet, Callahan, Collin, Comanche, Cooke, Coryell, Dallas, Delta, Denton, Eastland, Ellis, Erath, Falls, Fannin, Franklin, Grayson, Hamilton, Hill, Hood, Hopkins, Hunt, Johnson, Kaufman, Lamar, Lampasas, Limestone, McLennan, Milam, Mills, Montague, Navarro, Parker, Rains, Red River, Rockwall, Somervell, Tarrant, Taylor, Travis, Williamson, and Wise.